Heel of a Race

Last weekend, I stopped by CNF to pick up my swag from the Leith BMW XC series and help out with the 6 hour race. (This is probably as good a place as any to shout out Sean Callihan and TORC, Happy Fun Racing, and Middle Ring Racing as well as all the sponsors, especially Leith, for making the series happen.)

There were a ton of people out. Jef and Sadler from the Bike Chain were there to race, alum Dale showed up to hang out (and, as it happened, entertain my lil monster — thanks man), and Marshall from Clean Machine was turning wrenches and saving races. Jason and Ben from Back Alley Bikes were in the house, as were Tammy and Steve from Squirrelly Racing and some of the Bull City Cycling cats (athought no Baby Dave), along with a bunch of other people who don’t work in bike shops or have websites — even Brian Plaster and Derrick Nehrenberg came out of the wood (or metal) work.

Sean had pretty much everything covered in terms of volunteers, so I was moping around looking for something to do when Sadler approached me in need of a partner. After a momentary hestitation (hadn’t ridden SS in 4 weeks at least, wasn’t sure I had all my gear, I’m getting soft in my old age, etc. ad nasuem) I decided some RMS racin’ was exactly what the doctor ordered. Little did I know just know real man stylie it would be.

Dude turns in what looks to be a top ten time near as I can tell from counting on my fingers; all I knew on the day was that I was going to be riding a fair clip faster than I had anticipated. I had to laugh at myself for going all type A Mr. Lawyer man on the guy who asked me to on his team when our transitions weren’t dialed and then again even louder when I rode the second half of my last lap in the dark when I couldn’t figure out how to work Sadler’s light. Marshall deserves a second shout out for stepping up with a back up light (which subsequently saved my buddy Mark’s race) and gels. Sadler and I ended up fourth in a field of 11 not bad considering how stacked the top two teams were. Right now I’m debating whether to race Little River solo or try and close the gap on the third place team.

Steve from Squirrelly got some pretty good shots as you can see below; he’ll sell you a hi rez version for a measly 5 bones, email’s watermarked right on the low rez verison.


Ben


Jason


Jef


Sadler


Farris

More pictures here and here. I think hi rez copies from the second set are available for the asking. Thanks to everybody who braved the cold/took time from racing/running the race to click shutters.

~ by milkman on November 30, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
